The Half-Astrophysicist Blog

The Andromeda Galaxy

I know there are lots of great astrophotographers out there with large telescopes in their own observatories and fancy dedicated astro-oriented CCD cameras. At this point in my life, I don’t have the funds to have a setup like that or the time to dedicate to that type of astrophotography.

However, I do have some equipment and I like seeing how far I can push it. Tonight I went for the Andromeda Galaxy. The equipment included a Canon 60D, I used the EF-S 55-250mm zoom lens, a wireless intervalometer, and an iOptron SkyTracker.  It was a little tough to find the galaxy at first when I was shooting at 250mm so I backed off to 55mm to get a wider field of view. The wider field of view made it much easier to get my first pic.

IMG_9725Once I found the galaxy, I was able to get a couple of pics at 250mm. My alignment wasn’t perfect tonight so on the longest exposure (1 minute) you might notice a little star trailing.

IMG_9736 IMG_9735In these images, you can see another small galaxy above the Andromeda Galaxy. The smaller galaxy is a companion to Andromeda, M110.  Slightly below and to the right of the galaxy is a bright object. This would be M32, another companion of M31. If you look closely, you can see some dust lanes, especially right above the nucleus.

I think with practice I can do better, but I am generally pleased with the first attempts at capturing the Andromeda Galaxy. Even if you have relatively modest equipment, it’s worth going out and seeing what you can capture.

September 24, 2013 - Posted by | Astrophotography, Galaxies | ,

1 Comment »

  1. These pics are really awesome…thanks

    Comment by abir777 | September 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

