The Half-Astrophysicist Blog

Morning Planets

The last three mornings the Moon has been passing through a nice gathering of planets. Saturn is the highes in the sky, bright Venus beneath it and Mercury hugging the horizon. I have gotten up early each morning to snap a few shots and then crawl back into bed. Here is a gallery of the last three days. You can watch the Moon get lower in the sky each day.

Mercury is dropping rapidly (when I got out there this morning, it hadn’t quite cleared the mountain even though it was the same time as yesterday). Venus will get a little lower each day and Saturn a little higher each day so they are moving apart from each other.

You might notice that there aren’t a lot of lights near me. This is Tucson…I didn’t go anywhere except to the end of the courtyard in my townhome complex. This really is the view I get from where I live (I even look out the window at the mountains to be sure the sky is clear before I bother getting dressed!)

December 12, 2012 - Posted by | Astrophotography, Conjunctions, Mercury, Saturn, Venus | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Nice! Sadly we’ve had cloudy mornings in Tennessee until today when the Moon was gone. I have to work to take out the unlovely streetlight orange from night sky shots here.

    Comment by Theo Wellington | December 12, 2012 | Reply

  2. Nice snaps…

    Comment by Abir | December 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

