The Half-Astrophysicist Blog

My First Aurora Pictures

Living in Arizona, I don’t get to see the Aurora. It takes an exceptional solar storm to see the Northern Lights that far south.

Right now,  I am at the Schoodic Education and Research Center at Acadia National Park in Maine. Northern Lights are more common up here. A reasonably strong solar storm hit yesterday and it was a wonderfully clear night.  Right before I left on this trip, I got a new Sigma 10mm fisheye lens for my camera.  That is a nice fast, wide angle lens that is perfect for capturing Aurora.  So here is a sampling of the shots I got last night.

Looking forward to seeing what tonight might hold.

September 27, 2011 - Posted by | Astrophotography, Atmospheric Physics, Aurora, Photography

2 Comments »

  1. Wow, more please! I’ve always wanted to shoot the Northern Lights, but I’ve never had the chance. These are gorgeous!

    Comment by KatiesCameraBlog | September 27, 2011 | Reply

  2. You rock. Good luck for tomorrow night! You are edging past the halfway mark on the astrophysicist competency scale though, watch yourself…

    Comment by Gabriel Josset (@BilliardTravel) | September 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

