The Half-Astrophysicist Blog

Saturn Through the Galileoscope

Saturn just passes opposition yesterday, the closest approach to Earth for the year.  That makes it a great time to view Saturn.  Therefore, I broke out my trusty Galileoscope to have a look.  It looked pretty good so I got out my Sony Cybershot and shot a short video.

It’s small, so I recommend using full screen mode and bump it up to 720p.  Saturn was low in the sky and the seeing wasn’t great.  You can see some electronic noise that is common when a digital camera tries to capture faint light.  Still, you can easily see the rings, not bad a for an inexpensive little 50mm scope.

Last night, I went out again and saw Saturn and four Moons: Titan, Tethys, Dione, and Rhea according to Stellarium.  So you don’t need a large scope to see a lot!

April 5, 2011 - Posted by | Astrophotography, Observing, Solar System

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Rob! I would like to try this, too🙂 Can you tell me more about your set up?

    Thanks!

    Cheers,
    Raven

    Comment by cosmicwanderer05 | April 16, 2012 | Reply

  2. It was pretty minimal. I mounted the Galileoscope on a tripod, found and focused on Saturn. I mounted the camera on a second tripod, lined it up with the eyepiece and hit record. There was no tracking so you can see Saturn drift across the field of view.

    Comment by halfastro | April 16, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

