The Half-Astrophysicist Blog

Green Flash Through a Tree

I was out at a star party last night in Sells, Arizona.  The western horizon behind some trees so I didn’t really expect any great photographic opportunities.  I stepped outside a couple of minutes before sunset and based on experience, thought the Sun looked like it might produce a green flash. I didn’t even have my tripod with me so I had to hold the camera by hand (forutnately, using very short exposures you can get away with that!)  I had very little time to adjust the settings and think these would have been even better with just a touch longer exposure.  Still, I was quite happy to get a unique shot through the tree branches.  Here are the pics.

Visibly, these were bright and distinctive green flashes.  I saw one on the left and one on the right as the Sun was bisected by tree branches.  I showed photos to people at the star party and lots of them didn’t even know you could see a green flash from Arizona, subscribing to the mistaken notion that you had to watch sunset over the ocean.

This makes the third night in a row I have seen and photographed green flashes (the one from Wednesday wasn’t as impressive as the other two).

March 25, 2011 - Posted by | Astrophotography, Atmospheric Physics, Green Flash

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

