The Half-Astrophysicist Blog

Beautiful Sun

I was out at Old Tucson Studios today for Ted Walker Day, an annual event for students in Tucson.  I was showing off the Sun with a Personal Solar Telescope.  The Sun did not disappoint today!

Sunspot #1149 just departed over the limb of the Sun.  However, it is going out with a bang sending huge plasma bursts into space.  Here is a pic from the Solar Dynamics Observatory.

Now my telescope is much smaller and on the ground, but I couldn’t help but holding up my cheap Sony point and shoot camera to the eyepiece and here is what I got.  I could only fit in the limb of the Sun near the action.  The camera has very few controls on it…I turned the flash off, put it in auto mode, lined it up with the eyepiece and held it as steady as I could.

Okay, not a great shot, but it’s a nice way to remember this spectacular site!  If you have a solar telescope, dig it out now!

January 27, 2011 - Posted by | Astrophotography, Observing

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

