The Half-Astrophysicist Blog

Three Planets from San Diego

Yes, I know I was just up in Sonoma County a few days ago (and for those keeping score at home, I am going to Boulder for the ASP meeting on Monday as soon as I finish up here at the Optics and Photonics meeting).  I got lucky and they upgraded me to a harbor view room with a balcony.  Therefore, I didn’t even have to leave my hotel room…just go out on the balcony and shoot tonight.

Unfortunately, I was dodging clouds as you can see.  This is the best of the pics I got tonight (click to embiggen).

Notice a few nights ago that Saturn was almost directly above Mars.  Now Saturn is now above and to the right of Mars.

You might notice some lights at the bottom of the picture.  I took a zoomed in shot a little before this one..

That would be the USS Nimitz stationed across the bay.

Hoping for clear skies tomorrow night so I can try again.

August 1, 2010 - Posted by | Astronomy, Astrophotography, Observing, Solar System

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

