The Half-Astrophysicist Blog

The Big Picture: Cassini

Boston Globe’s Big Picture series continues this week with a look at the awesome images being returned by NASA’s Cassini probe which has been orbiting Saturn since 2004.  It’s hard to pick a teaser image for you as there are so many good ones.

Those are the rings of course.  The Moon in the distance is Mimas, sometimes called the Death Star Moon.

Be sure to check out all the images!  You won’t be disaapointed.

April 21, 2009 - Posted by | Astronomy, NASA, Solar System

1 Comment »

  1. Hi,
    When I was born, my parents gave me the name Mimas. It sounded different and strange to every one including me, how ever, I never knew what the name Mimas meant?
    Today I came to know that Saturn’s Death Star Moon means Mimas. Shocking isn’t it? We do believe ( Religion wise)that we are some how connected to the stars, but what I do not know if my parents knew if the name Mimas meant the Death Star?
    Can you mail me more information about the Moon Mimas, why was it called so? Who named it? And if possible where did it come from?
    I would be happy to receive your answer.

    Humbly, I forward my kind and warm regards,

    Mimas Khodr
    Lebanon

    Comment by Mimas | January 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

